On the eve of a new season

I’m going to try to do this on a regularish basis. Just post about how I feel about the team and how things are going.

With games about to actually count, it’s a good time to start. And it’s weird, I’m excited to see some Blue Jays baseball. I’m excited to know there’s something for me to watch for the next six months. I’m looking forward to the season and am probably more optimistic than most  about the 2014 season.

But it’s not like last year, when I was kinda basketcase-ish leading up to the season opener. I remember sitting at work in the afternoon, super stoked about the upcoming season. It was finally going to be year the Jays did something. And that was awesome. After years of watching futile attempts of making the playoffs, 2013 was going to be the year.

And we all know how that ended up.

So this year, that excitement is gone. But in a way, I think that’s a good thing. As we head into the 2014 season, I’m just excited to watch some damn baseball, with the best players in the world trying to win a game every single day. Sure, the Jays may do well. They may also suck.

I guess the point is: this year I’m much more interested in the journey than I am in the result. Heading into last year all I cared about was a postseason berth. This year, I just can’t wait for baseball and summer, and cold beer. Walk-off hits and well-pitched gems. The 6-4-3 double play, and few Joey Bats no-doubters, and someone to surprised everyone and take a step into stardom.

It begins tomorrow – which I have to miss because of work, go figure – and continues until the leaves start to turn.

Summer’s here. Baseball’s back.

Go Jays.

Leave a Reply

